Music Forums

Forums > Hangout > why such a long list of needs? seriously...

No politics. No religion. It's all about the music, people! So keep it clean, polite, and be sure to read our Community Guidelines before posting in the forum.

As a mixing/mastering engineer i would like to help people with their project, problem is... when i see that you need banjo, harmonica, female vocals, keyboard, electric guitar, timpani drums, cello, bass guitar, arrangement, male vocals, mixing, mastering..........
Its hard to take the project seriously. This is supposed to be procollabs not "HELP! Finish my project for me!" Anyone else agree?
#4248 Posted Mon 06 Jul, 2020 8:50 pm
As a mixing/mastering engineer i would like to help people with their project, problem is... when i see that you need banjo, harmonica, female vocals, keyboard, electric guitar, timpani drums, cello, bass guitar, arrangement, male vocals, mixing, mastering.......... Its hard to take the project seriously. This is supposed to be procollabs not "HELP! Finish my project for me!" Anyone else agree?

Originally posted by Wizdumb76 on Mon 06 Jul, 2020

Hey, Tony. Good post, and good point!

I would generally agree, there are a lot of projects I see with some far fetched requests for every instrument under the sun. Seems to me like those projects will not likely get finished if they are serious. But more likely, I think they are just asking for anyone who wants to, to join in.

But more to your point, I would also say that those are not finished projects. In that case, you are too early if you are looking to do the mix. I would assume they are not asking the mix engineer to do the project for them, more likely they want a mix engineer to participate, just at a later stage when the project is finished and ready for mixing.