Music Forums

Forums > Hangout > Thoughts on Blog Article "Good but not Good Enough"

No politics. No religion. It's all about the music, people! So keep it clean, polite, and be sure to read our Community Guidelines before posting in the forum.

I don't comment below articles. The article is: https://blog.procollabs.com/not-good-enough/

To me this was a shallow and somewhat condescending piece. Yes. I agree that bedroom/small music creators would benefit from using other people's skills. But [1] because we are bedroom producers we don't have anyone in a lot of cases to ask. [2] What in the long run do we gain by say, getting a mastering wizard to do our album for a fee? Sure, it may make our album great. But how does that improve my skills? Or do I become dependent on someone else? [3] Because many of us are self taught we have home spun workflows that you would never teach, for better or worse, in a music or mixing college. So trying to give someone our tracks to master might be pointless. For instance I like to keep a "rough edge" to my tracks. I don't seek perfection. How the heck do I tell a mixing wizard that I would like to keep some roughness? For instance I often overlap my samples a bit. I like it that way.

This was a very simplistic piece, in my opinion, that came across as very finger waving. It didn't consider the bedroom music maker's needs or perspective. In fact it belittled it by saying that they wanted egotistical control.
#2563 Posted Sat 15 Jul, 2017 5:39 am
Hey Andrew, thanks for sharing this - you know what's good about your thoughts, is that is demonstrates that everyone has different perspectives and are looking for different things.